PRINT Home » Parents » Parent Involvement » School Advisory Board

School Advisory Board

Your St. Barnabas School Advisory Board recognizes the importance of a Catholic education in the development of Christian values and academic excellence.


The purpose of the advisory board is to support the St. Barnabas educational community in order to ensure that students have the opportunity to develop an appreciation of themselves and others, as well as to recognize their responsibility to society.

Role includes:

  • Suggesting and developing policies that give direction to the school and enable it to reach it’s agreed upon goals.
  • Collaborating with the Pastor in the hiring, termination, and evaluation of the Principal. 
  • Reviewing and advising on the annual budget.
  • Acting as marketing agent for: retention and recruitment of students, promotion of programs, and communication with the Parish Community.
  • Assisting development and improvement of the school’s five year strategic plan.

Members serve three-year terms. All members of the Board shall be Parishioners.


  • Mrs. Mary Kay Gawne (4th year, Past Chairperson)
  • Mrs. Shannon Foster (3rd year, Chairperson)
  • Mrs. Gena O'Malley (2nd year, Vice Chairperson)
  • Mrs. Elisabeth Pennix (1st year, Secretary)
  • Mrs. Terri Haymaker (3rd year)
  • Mrs. Jodie O'Boyle (3rd year)
  • Mr. Sergio DeHoyos (2nd year)
  • Mrs. Maura Finn (2nd year)
  • Mr. Michael Grant (2nd year)
  • Mr. Frank Mullaghy (2nd year)
  • Mr. Joseph Herber (1st year)
  • Mrs. Kathleen Morgan (1st year)
  • Mr. Christopher Kaskie (1st year)
  • Reverend James Donovan, Ex Officio
  • Mrs. Elaine Gaffney, Principal, Executive Officer

2017-2018 Meeting Schedule

School Advisory Board Meetings are generally held on Monday evenings at 7pm in the school. Schedule is as follows unless otherwise announced in the school newsletter:

  • August 21
  • September 25
  • October 23
  • November 27
  • December 18
  • January 22
  • February 26
  • March 26
  • April 30
  • May 21
  • June 4
© 2008 The Catholic Community of Saint Barnabas. All Rights Reserved. | Website Design and Development by